Dorothea Erxleben Awards 2021 – two prices for scientists of the RTG 1743

30 Aug, 2021

Dorothea-Erxleben-Awardees 2021, from left to right: Dr. Julia Pagel, Prof. Dr. Petra Bacher,
Dr. Corinna Bang, © C. Kloodt / Exzellenzcluster PMI, Uni Kiel

On 30th August, 2021 the Cluster of Excellence Precision Medicine in Chronic Inflammation PMI awards three highly endowed Dorothea Erxleben Female Investigator Awards (1x 100,000 Euros, 2x 50,000 Euros) to support its female scientists in the field of inflammation research. Two of the awardees are members of the Research Training Group RTG 1743 “Genes, Environment and Inflammation”: Prof. Dr. Petra Bacher and Dr. Corinna Bang. The third one comes from the University of Lübeck: Dr. Julia Pagel.

The award has been endowed for the first time within the previous Cluster of Excellence „Inflammation at Interfaces“ in 2017. It is entitled after Dorothea Christiane Erxleben, who at the middle of the 19th century gained as first women in Germany her doctoral degree and worked as medical doctor.

Professor Petra Bacher from the Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology (IKMB) and the Institute of Immunology at Kiel University (CAU) and the University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein (UKSH), Campus Kiel, is awarded the price endowed with 100,000 Euros. She will investigate the impact of pre-existing memory T-cells and the immunological age on the quality of T-cell responses under a SARS-CoV-2 vaccination and how this influences its efficacy.
Within the RTG 1743 she is supervisor in three associated projects and co-supervisor in one of the main projects and is discussion partner for all junior scientist at the regular meetings.

Dr. Corinna Bang is Post-doc at Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology of CAU and UKSH. She gains funding of 50,000 Euros. Within her project she will analyze the functional composition of the gut and the oral microbiome of humans with multiple sclerosis and find out which potential influences their composition has on the pathogenesis of this disease.
Corinna supervises four doctoral researchers together with Prof. Andre Franke and provides her expertise in the field of microbiome research to the RTG 1743. She reviews project presentations of all doctoral researchers of the group and provides support.

Both women serve a role model for the female junior researchers of the group. Congratulations and success for your research project funded by the awards.

Here you can find the press release of the Cluster of Excellence PMI.